Board of Directors

Pierre Jonckheer, President

Pierre Jonckheer was member of the European Parliament from 1999-2009 and Vice-President of the Greens/EFA Group between 2001-2009. Prior to that, he served eight years as a member of the Belgian Senate for Ecolo, the French-speaking Belgian Green Party. He is currently deeply involved in the Foundation's activities, and at the same time, he is a Professor of European affairs at the University of Louvain (UCL). Pierre is an Honorary Senator of Belgium.

Susanne Rieger, President

Susanne Rieger has been responsible for European issues and European relations in the Catalan Green foundation Fundacio Nous Horitzons (FNH) for the past eight years. Since 2009, she is also member of the Board of FNH. She has been delegate to the GEF General Assembly since the founding of GEF. From a professional point of view, Susanne has been dealing with issues of political education, capacity building, political and public discussions and communication structures on the European level for the past twenty years.

Juan Behrend

Juan Behrend is the former secretary general of the European Green Party and prior to that of the Green Group in the European Parliament. His international political career started in Argentina. Juan played a decisive role in the set-up of the Green European Foundation and of the Global Greens' Coordination.

Anne de Boer

Anne de Boer works for the Dutch Green Foundation Bureau de Helling on projects relating to central and eastern Europe and is currently the network coordinator for the European Network of Political Foundation, which represents 65 member foundations from 25 countries. He previously served as the European Federation of Green Parties' Secretary General from 1995-1996.

Monica Frassoni

Monica Frassoni is Co-President of the European Green Party. From 1999 to 2009 she was Member of the European Parliament (from 2004 Co-President of the Greens/EFA Group) - in a truly European way: once for the Wallonian, once for the Italian Greens. In her work for GEF she will focus on training and capacity building and the future of Green politcal thought in Southern Europe.

Heidi Hautala

Heidi Hautala, co-president

Heidi Hautala is a Member of the European Parliament and former Minister for International Development in Finland. Heidi previously served as a  member of the Finnish national Parliament and is closely connected to the Finnish Green political foundation Visio. Her work is dedicated to promoting environmental responsibility, openness of politics and global justice. 



Dirk Holemans

Dirk Holemans is the Coordinator of Oikos, the Flemish green Think Tank for social-ecological change. He has previously served in the Flemish Parliament as a representative for the Greens, and has been party president in early 2000s. Dirk is also editor-in-chief of Oikos' eponymous journal. His main interests are ecological economy, green cities, sustainable mobility and political ecology.

Eva van de Rakt

Eva van de Rakt is the director of the Heinrich Böll Foundation’s Prague office. In this role, she has supported Green movements in Central and Eastern Europe for more than ten years. Since 2001, she has worked for the Heinrich Böll Foundation focusing on the programmatic areas of democracy and human rights as well as energy and climate policy.