The General Assembly elects a Board of Directors that meets on a regular basis and is responsible for the overall strategic management and decision-making of the foundation. The Board members nominate one or two (co-)president(s), as well as a secretary and a treasurer amongst themselves.

Our current Board was elected on the 11th of October 2019 with a mandate of three years.

Board Members – Biographies & Current Positions


Klára Berg
Klára helps young people and green-minded citizens to get involved in the public space. For 10 years she has been enthusiastically working as a freelance trainer and designer of non-formal educational activities, especially in activist and political education. Working with a wide range of organisations, from grassroots groups to the National Agency administrating Erasmus+, she began working with GEF to launch activist training in the Czech Republic four years ago. She is passionate about youth work, railway, music, Caucasus, and her new position on the GEF board of directors.

Teo Comet





Dirk Holemans (Co-president)

Dirk Holemans is the Coordinator of Oikos, the Flemish green Think Tank for social-ecological change. He has previously been Member of Parliament for the green party. Dirk is also editor-in-chief of Oikos’ eponymous journal. His main interests are ecological economy, green cities and political ecology. He recently published “Freedom & Society. Towards a social-ecological society” (available in En/Fr/De/Hu/Sp).

Vedran Horvat
”Vedran Horvat is Head of the Zagreb based Institute for Political Ecology since 2015. From 2005 to 2015 he worked for Heinrich Böll Stiftung as country director for Croatia. He was also member of the managing board for National Foundation for Civil Society Development in Croatia (2012-2017). He is sociologist specialised in human rights and democratisation, with prior professional experience in journalism. He is regularly speaking and publishing on questions of European democracy, environmental justice, migration etc.

Benoit Monange (Treasurer)





Susanne Rieger (Co-President)
Susanne Rieger has been responsible for European issues and European relations in the Catalan Green foundation Fundació Nous Horitzons (FNH) for the past eight years. Since 2009, she is also member of the Board of FNH. She has been delegate to the GEF General Assembly since the founding of GEF. From a professional point of view, Susanne has been dealing with issues of political education, capacity building, political and public discussions and communication structures on the European level for the past twenty years. She is based in Barcelona and working as coach and consultant in different European countries.

Ewa Sufin-Jacquemart

Ewa Sufin-Jacquemart is the Director of the Polish green foundation Fundacja Strefa Zieleni ( She is an activist of the Polish green party Partia Zieloni and for several years she was a delegate of the party to the EGP Council. Ewa studied extensively and had various professional experiences (both in Poland and France, where she lived for 25 years), in sociology, IT, organisation and methods, development of regions through sustainable tourism and environmental protection, corporate social responsibility and diplomacy. Between 2007 and 2011 she was the Consul of the Republic of Poland in Luxembourg. Ewa is a member of the Council of the Congress of Women Association and coordinates their “Green Center” since 2014. She is an Associate member of the GEF General Assembly since 2017.

Sevil Turan





Dagmar Tutschek (Secretary)





Honorary presidency

The role of Honorary President of the Green European Foundation was assigned to Pierre Jonckheer, for his contributions to establishing GEF, developing its political profile and successfully serving as its Co-president between 2008 and 2016. As Honorary President, Pierre continues contributing to GEF on an ad hoc basis with his knowledge and experience, and will remain involved in some of the GEF’s projects.

Pierre Jonckheer

Pierre Jonckheer is currently lecturer at the Open Faculty for economic and social policies (FOPES) at the University of Louvain (Belgium). As researcher on European economic and social policies he has been involved in trade unions activities from 1984 until 1991. As a Green activist, he is a member of Ecolo since 1986. He has been member of parliament for the Greens both at national and European levels from 1991 until 2009, and also the first co-president of GEF from 2008 until 2016.

Cookies on our website allow us to deliver better content by enhancing our understanding of what pages are visited. Data from cookies is stored anonymously and is never shared with third parties.

Find out more about our use of cookies in our privacy policy.